I spent the weekend in Catemaco a city in the south central portion of the Mexican state of Veracruz, within the volcanic mountains of the Sierra de Los Tuxtlas. I had a nice trip with my 2nd hostfamily and their son’s girlfriend and her family.

Vicente (the son of my 2nd host family) is going to exchange in Brasilia and his girlfriend is going to Taiwan. I will miss them a lot because they were my first local friends.

We were supposed to leave at 9 o’clock but the reality is that we left at 12.

Vicente told me that he’s into playing drums and he sold his drumset one month ago. I told him that I always drum when I’m in a car but I have never played a drumset. In the car he gave me his cool ipod with touchscreen and it had a drumset in it. I was o happy and I spent 1,5 hours just playing it and smiling. I have never heard my own drumming before and it felt good to hear it. Jessica and Vicente laughed at me.

We had a stop in a hotel where we ate some tacos. It was good and we also saw the beautiful mountains and at the same time I was listening to Vicente’s ipod I was really happy with his taste of music.

Finally we arrived to the destination and the view was again beautiful

 

 1249332908_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

The view

 

The night we slept in a tent. It sure was an operation to get the tent up. Here is what the architect planned it to look like.

 1249333271_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

And here is what it looked like made by us..

 1249333545_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

We did some rethinking  and it started to look a bit like it was supposed to.

 1249333720_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

There in the tent we (me, Vicente, Jessica, Vicente’s sister and cousin) told jokes and I was I didn’t understand everything when they talked in Spanish but luckily they were nice and often translated the things they had talked about. :D Then I taught them a game where you have to slap the groung one after another until someone slaps twice. Me and Vicente were the best ones in it. Vicente went to sleep somewhere else because his mom didn’t want him to stay with us girls. I slept ok but in the morning the shouting and voices of kids ruined my dreams of nice and long sleeping. I was also tired because the day before I had been in a party on a roof with the cousin of my mother.

I got up and walked like a zombie to make myself some coffee that made made me look more like a normal humanbeing.

After coffee I want to swin in the pool. It started to rain heavily and the mexicans complained of the water that was getting cold and I laughed at them. 1249334267_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

 

That day we went to see the waterfalls and to see them we had to climb on the mountains and it reminded me of the times when I lived in Norway. I felt quite nostalgic for a long time after that trip. There we also put our toes in the water and enjoyed ourselves. I could have stayed there forever.1249333119_img-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998e

 

We returned to the place where we spent our night and soon we left to drive back to Coatzacoalcos. In the evening it started to storm and it looked amazing. I was at Vicente’s home because my parents weren’t home yet. When it was time to go I ran with Vicente under an umberella towards the car but the umberella broke and I ran to the car and Vicente ran back to the house soon we came to the car and he looked like he had just come out of the shower.

I was amazed of the beaty of the storm. The sky was full of lightnings. When I was home I went to my room and looked at my window until I fell asleep.